Hey little lamb…

Today it was time for an Easter premiere – baking my very own Easter Lamb! 🙂

It’s a traditional cake for Easter in Austria. I asked my mum whether she could bring one with her when she visited last week but it probably would not have survived the journey… So, she just brought me a easter lamb baking form, how amazing is that?!

Juhuu!

Juhuu!

This morning after breakfast I got started with it. There’s a recipe on the package of the baking form, I simply took that one:

  • 100 g butter
  • 100 g sugar
  • 1 pack vanilla sugar
  • a pinch of salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon of rum
  • 60 g grounded nuts
  • 120 g flour
  • 1,5 teaspoons baking powder
IMG_9626

Here we go…

For the rum I used dark Bacardi that we had home from the last party. And instead of the nuts I used grounded almonds – that was the only grounded nut-thingie that was left in the supermarket 😉

...the form looks a bit difficult to handle but it's really easy!

…the form looks a bit difficult to handle but it’s really easy!

For the dough, I first mixed butter, sugar , vanilla sugar, salt and the eggs.

Step 1: butter, sugar, vanilla sugar, eggs

Step 1: butter, sugar, vanilla sugar, salt, eggs

Then I added rum and nuts.

Step 2: rum and nuts

Step 2: rum and nuts

Finally, I put flour and baking powder in.

Step 3: flour and baking powder

Step 3: flour and baking powder

I mixed it quite well, so that it got very creamy.

Step 4: mix it well

Step 4: mix it well

Really important: greasing the form with butter and dusting with flour, so that the lamb doesn’t get stuck. I took the form apart, that made it easier.

Step 4: greasing with butter

Step 4: greasing and dusting the form

Putting the two halves back together, it was time for filling it with the dough.

Step 5: filling the form with the dough

Step 5: filling the form with the dough

I was so happy that the form was tight enough and the dough did not trickle out! I baked it on the bottom of the oven for 40 minutes at 160° C. Aaaand…

Tadaaa - the form fresh out of the oven!

…tadaaa – the form fresh out of the oven!

Now the most exciting part started – turning the form upside down, releasing the clamps around it and taking it off! I was so scared to break the lamb’s head off or so… but it worked, and it went really smooth!

Mmmmh... delicious! :)

Mmmmh… delicious! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Hey little lamb…

Leave a Reply

